Left for Dead

Love is a two lane road
But I took the back roads
And now nobody knows
That behind my eyes
Nobody’s home.

The woods are dark
And the light here is cold
I see your face
Its etched in my bones
But that was then, now it’s blood in the snow.

You said “Forever” with a smile and a gleam
And then looked over at me
Gave me a ring but it didn’t mean a thing.
It was a smokescreen that brought me to my knees.

There’s skid marks where we went off the road, out here
And there’s nothing left to show
The fight that was lost
Or warnings to know

You had a gun, hidden in your back pocket, and the lies you told, knew how to cock it.
I never noticed or saw you draw it.

You put the trigger gently beside ny head, and with your hand over my heart as you left me for dead.

© Megan M. Caldwell

www facebook.com/meganmcaldwellauthor

image

Leave a comment