A Poem ~ Immortals on Love

Bats in the dark, screech and swirl,
It runs in my blood.
Shadows down a dark corridor, coming after me.
Looking for my blood.
Will you remember me when I’m dead and gone or will I be another face, haunting your eternal memory?
I know I shouldn’t be out this late, but I couldn’t sleep, and now I can’t remember if I’m in my century or yours.
Dead and gone.
I scream your name, it’s the only thing I can remember in this world of fucked up happy endings.
You come to me, singing in a voice like Morrison’s about this potential I hold… how can I be your bride when I don’t even believe in marriage? You swear it means something more. I swear I don’t care.
Let’s pretend. You be the prince and I guess that leaves me the role of princess.
Night runs along and you’ve tasted more of me than any lethal weapon. It runs in my blood.
Dead and gone.
Born again to be yours.
Born again to a world of black velvet cloaks, and love expressed through violence, through an innocent thrown or left for you.
See my love, translucent beneath my white skin. It is stolen from others to echo what my living heart once tried to tell you. But you ripped my throat and my heart, from my body, consumed me, in ways I never knew possible.
I miss the feeling
Of the unknown
Of your arms
Around me
Around my throat
I miss
The flow of blood
In my veins, not theirs.
These castle walls cannot make up…
The love you loved me with, before I became…
Dead.
Like you.
Undead.
I am now your bride
My doubts, wants, thoughts fade
To what you ask of me
Offer me
Make love to me in the tomb
And let our love be immortal.

© Megan M. Caldwell

http://www.facebook.com/meganmcaldwellauthor

image

Megan M. Caldwell

2 thoughts on “A Poem ~ Immortals on Love

Leave a comment